Coffin Bay recovery time

I’m not sure what exactly I needed to recover from, but Coffin Bay has been the ideal place for it! As darkness descended on my drive down the Eyre Peninsula west coast, I realised I would be pushing it to get to Port Lincoln before dark. I figured I’d swing into Coffin Bay instead and stay a night or two to have a look around before continuing on. Three days later I’m still here!

It’s a small tourism and fishing town, most famous for the fresh oysters farmed most days by a number of local operators. I’m not a fan of oysters, or of fishing but I can see why this is a popular holiday destination. It’s such a relaxing and pleasant place to be. The scenery is spectacular, though not as varied as Denmark in WA for me, and there really isn’t much to do so it’s an ideal spot to do a bit of catching up with things.

The one thing for which I have been incredibly thankful is the Oyster Walk, created by the local tourism association. A series of three walking paths that all intersect and interlink, these provide a welcome opportunity to get out of the caravan park and explore a cost-free attraction. Interpretive signage features heavily along the coastal section reaching south around towards the Coffin Bay National Park, which I tackled the first morning before breakfast. I’ve never been a great map interpreter, and it took me further and much longer than I’d intended so that it was midday before I got my breakfast! But the gorgeous flowering native bushes and shrubs and beautiful views across the water kept enticing me to go further and I wasn’t sorry they did. There is also a circular route that leads up to a lookout on the hill behind the town and the cemetery (nice!) and another that leads north and east away from the town centre to the Old Oyster Town, the original wild oyster harvesting district which was abandoned after it was overfished.

Sunday night I enjoyed dinner and some drinks at the Yacht Club – a gorgeous venue right on the water with spectacular views, reasonably priced fare and my steak was perfectly cooked. Yum! What a credit to the club volunteers who make it all happen. I celebrated with my first bottle of bubbly since I started out in Augusta over seven weeks ago. Not sure what I was celebrating exactly – life, the view, being in South Australia, still being unemployed? It didn’t matter. 🙂

Like many small tourism towns, there are hundreds (it seems) of holiday houses dotted throughout, making it feel like a rattly old place with only it’s permanent population of 600 and a handful of travellers such as myself to take up the space. It seems most of the houses that the Oyster Walk cuts off from the shore are short term lets, with some terrible corny names like Rest-a-shore or Searenity or Baywatch giving them away. But there are also some incredibly well-named homes too – such as Jetty View (no argument there – the main town jetty and ugly fishing shed are about all you can see!), Duz Us (a gorgeous small stone cottage) and Four Winds: today it is so windy that I gave up on my plan of exploring Coffin Bay NP for fear of being blown away, and have retreated instead to the cosy campers kitchen at the excellent caravan park to watch television and write and admire the view across the bay. Oh and get distracted by the resident kangaroos grazing the park and even a group of emus that passed through this morning. It’s not a bad life! 🙂

About HollingsY

Writer, born-again cricket tragic, rookie cricket player, student, occasional musician and songwriter. I love inspiring stories that empower everyday people.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Coffin Bay recovery time

  1. Eve Parsons says:

    Hi Yvette, Coffin Bay sounds great, someone who grew up in SA was only telling me about Coffin Bay oysters at a BBQ in Beresford last night! I have really enjoyed reading your posts – how I love vicarious travelling – especially when it’s going to be quite a while before I can do any more proper travelling.. I was impressed by your hike up Bluff Knoll (heard of it but hadn’t learned where it was). Sounds like you are having a fabulous time and your photos are great. You’re not missing anything here, no gossip that I’m aware of anyway! (Apart from yet more Great White sightings/attacks 😦 here and up the coast in Carnarvon). G and G had their goodbye party last night and all the crew were there… they’ll get to the Canberra area in October after their trip to Scotland and Hungary.
    Anyway I’m getting ready to do the Greenough Nature Trail in a bit, so happy continued travelling – take care, drive safely Eve xx

    • yvetteh73 says:

      Hey, cool to hear from you Eve, thanks for the news. I didn’t know Guylaine and Glen (I assume?) were leaving! Maybe I can try and catch up with them in Canberra eventually.
      Hope the Greenough nature trail was good – did you do the whole loop? Pretty long! I’m tackling a long hike tomorrow in the Flinders Ranges – stay tuned! 🙂
      Cheers
      Yvette

Leave a Reply

