Lazy Christmas and a new start

Oops. What happened to the last month and a half I wonder? I can hardly believe my last post was six weeks ago!

Ridiculously I have a draft post which has been mostly ready to go since then, I just haven’t finished it. And after the laziest, quietest Christmas day I’ve had for many years (still enjoyable though) I though I’d better check in and get back on the wagon.

My excuse? I have been so consumed with finding work that its been difficult to find time and energy for fun stuff. Being unemployed when you want to work is not at all fun. 😦

But – good news at last. I will start with the Pyrenees Shire as their new Business Development Officer on January 7.

Pyrenees Range, and vineyards - Victoria not France!

Pyrenees Range, and vineyards – Victoria not France!

The Pyrenees Shire sits just to the west of Ballarat in central Victoria. I’ll be based in a town called Beaufort and have a two year contract to implement key recommendations of the Shire’s tourism plan. Wine tourism, nature based opportunities (state forests etc), farm stay and goldfields history will be my key focus areas, plus working with the Grampians Tourism RTO and network of neighbouring shires. I am really seriously looking forward to getting stuck into it!

In the meantime, I have started in my volunteering role at Sovereign Hill (more to come on that later this week, after my first day on site in costume) which I’m really looking forward to continuing and developing within. The majority of the staff and volunteers I’ve met so far are passionate and enthusiastic people, and I’m loving it.

I also aim to play some more blog catching up between now and Jan 7 to fill in a picture of where I am and what I’ve been doing with myself the last couple of months (so much for my promise in post #2 of not backtracking any more!). And even more importantly, getting back into the kind of regular hours I’ll need to keep for going back to work.

So I’ll sign off for now – au revoir!

About HollingsY

Writer, born-again cricket tragic, rookie cricket player, student, occasional musician and songwriter. I love inspiring stories that empower everyday people.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lazy Christmas and a new start

  1. Eve Parsons says:

    Congratulations Yvette! That is great news. How nice to have a 2 year contract as well, you can relax and get really stuck in. So funny to think of you dressing up to do Sovereign Hill. Nigel and I took the train from Melbourne to Ballarat for the day in June. Unfortunately I decided that with only a few hours, we couldn’t do the town and SH and I elected to look around Ballarat, which we really enjoyed. There is a fantastic second hand bookshop refurbished in Art Deco style which has a self-contained gorgeous apartment for 2 which anyone can rent, above it – also very Deco. I will try to find the card as I can’t describe where it is without a map. Hope you get the weather to make the most of your last fortnight of freedom! Eve x

    • yvetteh73 says:

      Thanks Eve. 🙂 I know the book shop you mean, and yes it looks like a great place. But I got a bit miffed when I went in there to offer a pile of books I thought they might want to onsell (having seen the sign on the window saying “Books always wanted”) and the lady just dismissed them without more than a cursory look and wouldn’t give me any meaningful reason, and was basically pretty snooty about it! Obviously only some books are always wanted. I vowed I’d never go back in there, but I expect in time I will give in…
      Hope you have a great start to 2013.
      Cheers
      x

Leave a Reply

