Tempting Talbot

Nick and Liesl at Babushka Bar - yes, that is an 80s arcade game at bottom left!

Babushka Bar in Ballarat – yes, that is an 80s arcade game at bottom left! A fab, cosy, eclectic venue, and Nick and Liesl were awesome as ever.

It’s been a crazy week – out of the office doing 90 km round trips all four days that I worked, racing off to Ballarat after work on day 4 to catch a Nick and Liesl gig that night, then a day of conservation volunteering at Sovereign Hill the next, some exhausting bed and fridge shopping in Ballarat the day after that, before heading to Maryborough to take part in this morning in the first triathlon I’ve done in nearly a year – and at the ungodly hour of 7am!

So it’s no surprise that by the time I’d eventually showered and warmed up again afterwards, made a coffee and cooked breakfast, pottered about Maryborough, talked to Mum then got lost trying to leave on my way back to Ballarat to search for the perfect bed (!) that I was easily tempted to stop in Talbot to try a coffee at the enticing London House – which I hadn’t dared walk into last time I passed through the town for fear I’d be tempted to buy something I simply couldn’t afford. Ah, so nice to be working again!

IMG_2105So I stopped for a coffee, and when I saw the array of tempting cakes on the counter I thought I’d splash out and have one of those as well. As it turns out, this was no splash out – $5.50 for a good coffee and awesome chocolate slice. Absolutely a bargain, why need it be so much more elsewhere? So I sat and read a couple of chapters of Persuasion, enjoyed a rest and relax, and even some intelligent conversation about Jane Austen with the lovely guy who served me. Nice.

IMG_2109London House is the community hub of Talbot – as well as the bistro / cafe there is an online access centre, a community garden and no doubt more that I didn’t see. Plenty of gorgeous 19th century architecture in Talbot, as with most towns in the Victorian goldfields. Also there’s the cheekily named second hand book shop that I’ve previously posted about – Slightly Bent Books – which sits on the corner of Camp Road. Love it. Perhaps Talbot’s main claim to fame is its very well regarded farmers market, and also the Town Hall market, both on the third Sunday of every month – which I think I’ll have to check out.

I suspect Talbot is a town that will draw me back again and again.

Needless to say I didn’t get to Ballarat to the bed shop – probably just as well, or I might have passed out on any semi-comfortable bed I tried!

Instead I took the direct route home to Beaufort, via Lexton, to unload after a three day reminder of life on the road. I’m so happy to be in a position to enjoy both sides of the coin these days.

About HollingsY

Writer, born-again cricket tragic, rookie cricket player, student, occasional musician and songwriter. I love inspiring stories that empower everyday people.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

