Life in a rural town II

Meet one of my nearby friendly neighbours….

IMG_2302

I went for a walk after work a couple of days ago, and was intrigued as to why this corner block down the road, home to two sheep, also housed a huge trampoline. Adventurous sheep? Makes me think of the bizarre but really enjoyable Haruki Murakami novel A Wild Sheep Chase that I made a book group read when I lived in York… Few of them were impressed!

Anyway, so I thought I’d try to get a photo to show the weirdness, and this friendly furry came right over to me to say hello! And left again very disappointed that I didn’t have any food to offer.

Carrying on to wander down my favourite tree lined street, I discovered that autumn has indeed arrived.

Gorgeous colours! and check the mould on the road... doesn't get much sun it seems!

Gorgeous colours! and check the mould on the road… doesn’t get much sun it seems!

That’s in case I was in any doubt! A couple of days in the last week the overnight temp has got down to 5 degrees or less, and I’ve had to don several layers of clothes and coat to survive the 500m walk to work. Chimneys across the town are coming back into action, soon I guess there’ll be quite a wood smoke haze going on. And when I get my hands on some firewood I’ll be adding to it.

IMG_2245This is my new home 🙂 a sweet little cottage I moved into last week. I didn’t realise until now just how important it is to me that I live somewhere that is my space, where I feel comfortable. I’ve been finishing work more consistently at or near 5pm this week – happy to get back home. Which can only be a good thing for me!

I’ve tried out the wood burner on one evening, with the small amount of wood remaining in the wood shed. It took some work to get going but boy once it did, it was hot! I had to open the door and a window to cool down again. Stupid! 🙂

And here was my very sad first attempt at using the cooker – a brand new one!

Oops!

Oops!

Yep, it works…

About HollingsY

Writer, born-again cricket tragic, rookie cricket player, student, occasional musician and songwriter. I love inspiring stories that empower everyday people.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

