Picture Postcard Pyrenees I

I live in such a beautiful place. 🙂

Last week I was fortunate enough to spend a few days in Moonambel and surrounds, researching the winery cellar doors, cycling routes to link up the wineries and trails / tracks for walking and mountain biking. It’s such a gorgeous valley. Here’s some pics from my ride – dramatic weather that day as you can see!

I carried on up to a town called St Arnaud in our neighbouring shire to spend Friday night and explore some more – gorgeous historical buildings and a great view from the caravan park. Sweetie and I had a very exciting drive through the St Arnaud Ranges Forest on the way home the next day – the section of Centre Road that I did was supposedly 2wd friendly, but I have my doubts! Anyway, we made it.

Returning home from there – past Winjallock the home of Landcare Australia,  through the quaint village of Navarre and southwards via the Landsborough Valley – was a spectacular drive. At so many times I was tempted to stop and take a photo of the beautiful hills, valleys and acres of vineyard plantings in the gorgeous sunshine, but I didn’t think my iPhone would do it justice. Then just before I turned onto the Pyrenees Highway near Elmhurst, I decided I simply had to stop and capture this view – stunning.

IMG_2937

Aren’t I lucky? And thank heavens the rain has arrived!

About HollingsY

Writer, born-again cricket tragic, rookie cricket player, student, occasional musician and songwriter. I love inspiring stories that empower everyday people.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Picture Postcard Pyrenees I

  1. leola says:

    Hi Yvette, Just had a proper look at your photos of Moonambel – beautiful. Is that your bike? It looks like a gorgeous place to cycle around – are the roads suitable or boggy? And how do you keep your ears warm – do your glasses give you earache when they get cold from the wind friction? Would love to know the answer to these questions. Just did my Senior fist Aid course yesterday – very glad I did it even though so exhausted at end of term. Off to Geraldton tomorrow – flying from Perth. Will see Damon briefly tomorrow. Hope you are very well and happy – Love from Leola xxoo ps Andrew is doing quite well but gets tired easily, like me 🙂

Leave a Reply

