Things I don’t understand 1 – me and running

IMG_2779I hated cross-country running at school. Hated it! Well ok, hated all running really.

And now? I am training to do a half marathon trail run through the Pyrenees State Forest in November this year. That’s 21.5kms of running, on rough uneven ground, up and down hills – mud, tree roots, branches, sticks all waiting to get me.

Madness! But I love it.

Today I finished week one of my 12 week training programme, with a 30-ish minute run in my “local” – Mount Buangor State Park. It has a fabulous network of walking trails, so a perfect training ground. I suspect I’m going to get very friendly with most of them over the next three months.

IMG_3228Today was pretty tame – stayed on the flat with a short run on the recently re-opened trail between Middle Creek Campground and Bailes Picnic Area and return. Even so I still found a very wet muddy patch, had a fight with a stick and had to leap and dodge obstacles on the way. Such a buzz, I was on such a high at the end!

 

Who’d have thunk it… ?

Not me that’s for sure!

Oh – and did I mention that the big run in November finishes at a winery? 🙂 now there’s incentive if ever I need it!

About HollingsY

Writer, born-again cricket tragic, rookie cricket player, student, occasional musician and songwriter. I love inspiring stories that empower everyday people.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

