Run From the Hills – to a winery!

20131116-091357.jpg

Well, there they go. Three coach loads of intrepid trail runners, heading for the start line of their half marathon, which they’ll find at the top of the Pyrenees State Forest.

And no, I’m not with them. 😦 I’m super disappointed, having learned of the event early this year, committed to it in March and registered months ago. But the body just wasn’t going to manage it.

I was relatively on track with my training until I fell off my bike a month ago (more on that soon) and managed to hurt my foot. It only hurts when I run downhill. This race has 1500m high loss, so I guess that just wouldn’t be very sensible!

So today I’m just going to do a relatively sedate and flat 7km round the vineyard race instead.

Great to see so many people in little Avoca today – nearly 300 registered for this event alone I understand. And in the main town there’s a large pétanque tournament running for the weekend, they were setting up as I passed through.

Here’s a few more shots of the race village for you, I’m off to warm up for the race!

20131116-092330.jpg

20131116-092511.jpg

20131116-092534.jpg

About HollingsY

Writer, born-again cricket tragic, rookie cricket player, student, occasional musician and songwriter. I love inspiring stories that empower everyday people.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Run From the Hills – to a winery!

  1. Pingback: Wine region worries | ontheroadwithsweetie

Leave a Reply

